Primitive Observatory Nominated for Elgin

sfpa logoThe Elgin Award nominees have been announced for 2017, and among their number is Gregory Kimbrell’s The Primitive Observatory, which I’ve featured here previously. The Elgin is given by the Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association for a book, in this case published in 2015 or 2016. On hearing the news, I checked in with Gregory to ask a few questions…

What are your thoughts on the Elgin nomination?

I’m over the moon that PrimObs, a book at the crossroads of various genres, has found readers in the sci-fi/fantasy community, home to some of my favorite literature. That sci-fi/fantasy poetry enthusiasts have liked the book enough to nominate it for an award like this gives me renewed faith that my genre or genre-inflected poems, which often feel to me like they exist inside a vacuum, do make a difference to people.

cover of the primitive observatoryDid you have any immediate reaction when you got the news?

The first thing I did upon learning of the nomination of PrimObs was to save the list of other nominees. This is the summer reading list I’ve always wanted.

What are you writing these days?

My writing has actually been moving in a more sci-fi/fantasy direction since PrimObs. I’ve recently completed a manuscript of sci-fi/surrealist poems full of robots, amphibian people, dinosaurs, surgical experiments, etc. I expect the trend to continue!

Gregory Kimbrell’s The Primitive Observatory is available from major online bookstores [Amazon | B&N], and is available for order from your local independent bookseller.

 

Leave a Reply

