Readerly and Writerly Doings

book covers

Reading of Late

I’ve been reading a bunch of stuff. Jackie Morris’ beautiful Song of the Golden Hare. Rosemary Van Deuren’s moving Basajaun. Beth K. Lewis’ The New Gothic, about which I’ll most definitely have more to say later. Murder on the Ballarat Train, vol. 3 in the Phryne Fisher series. Melanie Lamaga’s The Evolution of Reptilian Handbags. Mason Currey’s Daily Rituals, an intriguing book about, well, the daily rituals of sundry writers, composers, artists, etc. Last but not least, Gregory Miller and John York’s The Uncanny Valley: Tales from a Lost Town.

Writing proceeds apace. I’m not where I want to be pace-wise for the year, but I expect that I will make it into the Cadbury Creme Eggs that I set aside for various wordcount goals. Since January 1 I’ve started and discarded countless things, but three of the short stories appear to be viable, as does the novel. My writing group is meeting regularly, and the critiquing and discussion are both pleasurable and good for me.

I am waiting, not particularly patiently, to post some exciting writing news. In the meanwhile I’ll mention that The Children of Old Leech received a fine review from Publishers Weekly, citing stories by T.E. Grau, Orrin Grey, Molly Tanzer, Joseph S. Pulver, Sr., and J.T. Glover & Jesse Bullington. This is, as far as I can tell, my first mention in those pages, and it was a thrilling way to start the past weekend.

Leave a Reply

